Takes money to make money. Also takes money to lose money.

Soon the cover for For the Love of God! will be finished. I can’t wait to show you all! Also, incase you didn’t know, the book will be available on Amazon as an e-book, but there will also be a print version. Yes, a real book that you can hold, smell, write in, loan out and never receive back. I don’t yet know what the price will be, but I’m thinking somewhere around the 13.95 range. If all goes well, the book should be out sometime in late December. I’d like to have it out before Christmas, but I’m not sure thats feasible. You guys know how I procrastinate. You’ll hopefully be able to pre-order it before it’s out. If any of you want to know how much an endeavor like this will set you back, well, keep reading. I first spent about two thousand having it edited, then I paid about two hundred to have it proof-read. Hopefully this will suffice because I’m not going through another day of editing. Unless I notice another mistake, typo, contradiction of facts, or other unforgivable literary sin like misspelling my own name. Woe is me. Anyway, now I’m paying about two hundred to have the cover designed, which is a great deal. We’ll see how it turns out. I have high hopes. Next is having it printed. I’m planning to use Aventine press, a POD (print on demand) company in California. Their turnaround time is about three months. Which makes me think it’ll be after the new year when it’s finished. I think the set up fee is four hundred jingles. After they have it all set up in their system, I’ll initially order 151 copies of the book, since that’s what they require to get a 25% discount, which will cost me about $470. When I have them in hand, I hit the streets with absolutely ZERO shame and sell them to anyone with 13.95 to their name. So, all things added up, I will have paid about $3,500 to have a book made. It’ll take me selling around 350 copies myself (if I sell nothing online) in order to break even. I think I can do that pretty easily. What do you think?

Comments
3 Responses to “Takes money to make money. Also takes money to lose money.”
  1. anon says:

    I am proud (Proud? Happy for. I toast to your achievement. Or something) of you for getting to this point, and can’t wait to loan my copy out…

    Recently I heard someone say, “Attempt the absurd, and you will achieve the impossible.” It wasn’t a fortune cookie or anything like that. It was an artist that followed their dream and is making it as an artist despite all they had to go through to make it to where they are.

    Inspirational shit, I tell you.

    Like

  2. Well, thank you very much! You have a copy? They haven’t been printed quite yet! Tell me your sources! Seriously, though, the “copy” you may have is just the bones of what it is now. The story is still the same, but it’s enhanced with editing, prologue and epilogue.

    Like

    • anon says:

      No, I don’t have a copy. I meant I will buy a copy and will eventually loan it out. It was more of a future nod to your success to you statement. Anyway – keep your public posted.

      Like

Leave a Reply

